2023 APR 18 AM 11: 41

OFFICE OF THE CITY CLERK

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY

CITY ATTORNEY'S OFFICE

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL RESOLUTION NO. 89689 C.N

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR SHENG THAO

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF HELLEN HARVEY AND TANYA BOYCE AS MEMBERS OF THE CANNABIS REGULATORY COMMISSION

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the Oakland Cannabis Regulation and Revenue Act, also known as Measure Z, adopted by the voters of Oakland, November 2, 2004, in the General Municipal Election, created the Cannabis Regulatory Commission to oversee the Ordinance's implementation and make recommendations to the City Council regarding implementation of City licenses, taxes, and regulations for adult use of cannabis; and

WHEREAS, the Oakland Cannabis Regulation and Revenue Act specifies that members of the Cannabis Regulatory Commission are to be appointed one by the Mayor, one by the City Auditor, one by the City Administrator, and one from each Member of the City Council, to serve unlimited two-year terms; and

WHEREAS, that Ordinance Number 12694 C.M.S., which established the Procedures of the CRC, provides in relevant part "... that an appointment to fill a vacancy shall be for the unexpired terms only"; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Sheng Thao has appointed Hellen Hervey and Tanya Boyce to serve two-year terms subject to confirmation by the City Council; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter Section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointments to the Cannabis Regulatory Commission:

Tanya Boyce, to serve a two-year term on the Cannabis Regulatory Commission representing District 6 beginning August 1, 2022 and ending July 31, 2024, filling the seat previously held by Joshua Chase.

Hellen Harvey, to serve a two-year term on the Cannabis Regulatory Commission representing District 7 beginning August 1, 2021 and ending July 31, 2023, filling the seat previously held by Frank Tucker.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

MAY 2 2023

AYES - FIFE, GALLO, JENKINS, KALB, KAPLAN, RAMACHANDRAN, REID, AND PRESIDENT FORTUNATO BAS

ABSTENTION

ATTEST:

y Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California