APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY

2023 MAR -8 PM 3: 53

FILED OFFICE OF THE CITY CLERK OAKLAND

## OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

## RESOLUTION NO. 89627 C.M.S.

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR SHENG THAO

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S REAPPOINTMENT OF ASHA BEENE-CLARKE AND JENNIFER SEIBERT AND CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF LENORE MCDONALD GUNST, DENNIS BLAKE SPEARS, TYDIA HILL, RISTINA INGRAM, SUZI KALMUS, AND PATRICIA OSAGE AS MEMBERS OF THE COMMISSION ON AGING

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 9921 C.M.S., adopted May 13, 1980, and amended in 1985 by Ordinance No. 10561 C.M.S., in 1989 by Ordinance No. 11081 C.M.S., and then in 1995 by Ordinance No. 11773 C.M.S., establishes the Commission on Aging to advocate for the elderly and serve as an advisory Board to the Department on Aging; and

WHEREAS, the Commission on Aging consists of eleven (11) members serving not more than two consecutive three year terms; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Sheng Thao has reappointed Asha Beene-Clarke and Jennifer Seibert to serve a second three-year term, subject to confirmation by the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Sheng Thao has appointed Lenore McDonald Gunst, Dennis Blake Spears, Tydia Hill, Ristina Ingram, Suzi Kalmus, and Patricia Osage to serve threeyear terms subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

**RESOLVED:** That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's reappointment of:

Asha Beene-Clarke to the Commission on Aging, to serve a three-year term that began on September 2, 2022 and ends on September 1, 2025, filling the seat previously held by herself; and

Jennifer Seibert to the Commission on Aging, to serve a three-year term that began on September 2, 2022 and ends on September 1, 2025, filling the seat previously held by herself; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED:** That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointment of:

**Dennis Blake Spears** to the Commission on Aging, to serve a three-year term that began on September 2, 2022 and ends on September 1, 2025, filling the seat previously held by Bryan Ricks;

Lenore McDonald Gunst to the Commission on Aging, to serve a three-year term that began on September 2, 2022 and ends on September 1, 2025, filling the seat previously held by Martha Scott;

**Tydia Hill** to the Commission on Aging, to serve a three-year term that began on September 2, 2022 and ends on September 1, 2025, filling the seat previously held by Tomye Neal Madison;

**Ristina Ingram** to the Commission on Aging, to serve a three-year term that began on September 2, 2022 and ends on September 1, 2025, filling the seat previously held by Shannon McDonnell;

**Suzi Kalmus** to the Commission on Aging, to serve a three-year term that began on September 2, 2022 and ends on September 1, 2025, filling the seat previously held by Jacqueline Phillips; and

**Patricia Osage** to the Commission on Aging, to serve a three-year term that began on September 2, 2022 and ends on September 1, 2025, filling the seat previously held by Cheryl Moore.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

MAR **21** 2023

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES – FIFE, GALLO, JENKINS, MANA, KAPLAN, RAMACHANDRAN, REID AND PRESIDENT FORTUNATO BAS

ABSEN' ABSTENTIÔN – 🖉 xcused - half

ATTEST:

ASHA REED City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California