

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO.	C.M.S.
_	'

INTRODUCED BY COUNCILMEMBER KALB

RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING AND HONORING THE OAKLAND TECHNICAL HIGH SCHOOL WOMEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM FOR WINNING THE 2022 CALIFORNIA INTERSCHOLASTIC FEDERATION (CIF) STATE DIVISION 3 CHAMPIONSHIP

WHEREAS, on March 11, 2022, the Oakland Technical High School Women's Basketball Team won the California (CIF) State Division 3 State Championship defeating La Salle-Pasadena 39-33; and

WHEREAS, in 2022, the Bulldogs followed up their 2019 state championship with their second straight title following a two-year cancelation of the tournament due do the pandemic; and and

WHEREAS, coming into the championship game, the Bulldogs had a record of 21 wins and 11 losses and faced a La Salle/Pasadena team with a record of 31 wins and 3 losses; and

WHEREAS, the 2022 Oakland Technical High School Women's Basketball Team Championship Roster includes Sophia Askew-Goncalves, Julia Basch, Nia Hunter, Taliyah Logwood, Marticia Pollard, Joslin Schreiber, Erin Sellers, Marisela Somvichian, Marina Tanaka-Wong, Jordan Taylor, Jada Williams, and Jala Williams; and

WHEREAS, the 2022 Oakland Technical High School Women's Basketball Championship Team was coached by Head Coach Leroy Hunt, Coach Elisha Davis and Coach Ceonte House; and

WHEREAS, these young student athletes on this dynamic team personify hard work and dedication and are a great source of pride for their community and the city of Oakland; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED: That the City Council enthusiastically recognizes and honors the Oakland Technical High School Women's Basketball Team for their outstanding performance and successful effort to win the 2022 CIF State Division 3 Championship.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - FIFE, GALLO, KALB, KAPLAN, REID, TAYLOR, THAO AND PRESIDENT FORTUNATO BAS

NOES – ABSENT – ABSTENTION –

ATTEST:	