OFFICE OF THE CITY CLERK OAKLAND

22 MAR 14 PM 4: 05



OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL 89071 RESOLUTION NO. C.M.S.

INTRODUCED BY COUNCILMEMBER CARROLL FIFE

ADOPT A RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING AND HONORING THE MCCLYMONDS HIGH SCHOOL WARRIORS FOOTBALL TEAM FOR WINNING THE 2021 CALIFORNIA INTERSCHOLASTIC FEDERATION (CIF) STATE DIVISION 3-A CHAMPIONSHIP

WHEREAS, on December 11, 2021 West Oakland's very own, McClymonds High School Warriors football team won the California Interscholastic Federation (CIF) State 3-A Title, defeating the Lake Balboa Birmingham 54-7; and

WHEREAS, under the leadership of Head Coach Michael Peters, the CIF State 3-A Title is their fourth state title since 2016—the Warriors won the 5-A CIF title in 2016, the 5-AA state crown in 2017, and the 4-A championship in 2018; and

WHEREAS, it is awe-inspiring that a small public school continues to dominate the field and bring national attention and recognition to the City of Oakland, especially West Oakland; and

WHEREAS, the McClymonds 2021 Football Team Roster includes, Isaiah Smiley, Roland Hammork, Dwayne McDougle, Tony Hamilton Ill, Horace Coleman, Dreyan Paul, Jay'Vion Cole, Gregory Kenny III, Raphael Campbell Jr., Troy Hill, Deontae Faison, Ray Cole III, Elijah Washington, Jaivian Thomas, Michael Dansby, Tayshon Clayton, Jayden Parker, Tajir Golden, Amir Gobar, DeMario Henderson, Filisione Vakalahi, Redmani Albert, Jaysen Cole, Breece Hutchinson, Charles Adams, John Tamale, Jamil Shelby, Simeon Mitchell, Malik Richardson, Ahmad Robinson, Sione Vailea, Siupeli Langi, Tigana Cisse, Adon Stinson Dent, Tommy McElroy, and Brandon Davis; and

WHEREAS, these young people exemplify hard work and dedication and are a source of great pride for their community and the City; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED: That the City of Oakland honors and recognizes the McClymonds Warriors football team for their outstanding performance and victory to secure the 2021 California Interscholastic Federation (CIF) State Division 3-A Championship.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

MAR 15 2022

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - FIFE, MANAGE, KALB, KAPLAN, REID, TAYLOR, MANAGE AND PRESIDENT FORTUNATO BAS -

NOES – P ABSENT – P

ABSTENTION -Excused-2 Gullo & Theo

ATTEST:

ASHA/REED

City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of

Oakland, California