

CITY OF OAKLAND



2010 SEP -7 PM 6: 02

CITY HALL • 1 FRANK H. OGAWA PLAZA, 3RD FLOOR • OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA 94612

Office of the Mayor Honorable Ronald V. Dellums Mayor (510) 238-3141 FAX (510) 238-4731 TDD (510) 238-3254

Letter of Appointment

September 21, 2010

The Honorable City Council
One City Hall Plaza, Second Floor
Oakland, CA 94612

Dear President Brunner and members of the City Council:

Pursuant to City Charter section 601, the Mayor has appointed/reappointed the following persons as members of the following Board or Commission, subject to City Council confirmation:

Mayor's Commission on Persons with Disabilities

Stephen Beard, Mayoral appointment to serve the term beginning September 3, 2009 and ending September 2, 2012, filling the seat previously held by Eva Aguillard.

Lori Ann Dotson, Mayoral appointment to serve the term beginning September 3, 2010 and ending September 2, 2013, retaining the seat she currently holds.

Michelle Hernandez, Mayoral appointment to serve the term beginning September 3, 2009 and ending September 2, 2012, filling the seat previously held by Chris Finn.

Denise Sherer Jacobson, Mayoral appointment to serve the term beginning September 3, 2009 and ending September 2, 2012, filling the seat previously held by DeMarco Sims.

Phillip Smith, Mayoral appointment to serve the term beginning September 3, 2008 and ending September 2, 2011, filling the seat previously held by Bill Pelter.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Sincerely,

Ronald V. Dellums

Mayor

	FILED	
DEFICE	OF THE CITY	CLERF
	OAKLAND	

APPROVED FOR FORM AND LEGALITY

CITY ATTORNEY

2010 SEP -7 PM 6: 02

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. C.M.S.

RESOLUTION APPOINTING STEPHEN BEARD, MICHELLE HERNANDEZ, DENISE SHERER JACOBSON AND PHILLIP SMITH, AND REAPPOINTING LORI ANN DOTSON AS MEMBERS OF THE COMMISSION ON PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 9968 C.M.S. creates the Commission on Persons with Disabilities, whose members are nominated by the Mayor and approved by the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 11864 C.M.S. specifies that members of the Commission on Persons with Disabilities are to serve three year terms, which are to be staggered so that some appointments will expire every year, and appointments to fill a term of office are only to be for the remainder of that term; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointments and reappointment to the terms set forth below:

Stephen Beard, Mayoral appointment to serve the term beginning September 3, 2009 and ending September 2, 2012, filling the seat previously held by Eva Aguillard.

Michelle Hernandez, Mayoral appointment to serve the term beginning September 3, 2009 and ending Frank September 2, 2012, filling the seat previously held by Chris Finn.

September 2, 2012, filling the seat previously held by Chris Finn.

Denise Sherer Jacobson, Mayoral appointment to serve the term beginning September 3, 2009 and ending September 2, 2012, filling the seat previously held by DeMarco Sims.

Phillip Smith, Mayoral appointment to serve the term beginning September 3, 2008 and ending September 2, 2011, filling the seat previously held by Bill Pelter.

Lori Ann Dotson, Mayoral reappointment to serve the term beginning September 3, 2010 and ending September 2, 2013, retaining the seat she currently holds.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA, PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES-

Kernighan, Nadel, Quan, De La Fuente, Brooks, Reid, Kaplan,

and President Brunner

NOÈS-

ABSENT-

ABSTENTION-

ATTEST:

LATONDA SIMMONS
City Clerk and Clerk of the Council
of the City of Oakland, California