

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO.	C.M.S.
----------------	--------

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF DARBY HATFIELD, KAI MEDINA-SAFIR, AND HAYDEN THOMPSON, AS MEMBERS OF THE YOUTH ADVISORY COMMISSION

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor, subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the Youth Advisory Commission was created by Ordinance No.10545 C.M.S., adopted February 5, 1985, amended by Ordinance No. 11461, passed June 23, 1992, and amended by Ordinance No. 11869, passed March 12, 1996; and

WHEREAS, the Youth Advisory Commission is comprised of Twenty-Five youth from ages 13 to 21, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council, one to represent each Council District and the remaining eighteen to serve as at-large members, with all appointments being for a period of two years, with a limit of two consecutive terms; and

WHEREAS, the purpose of the Youth Advisory Commission is to identify the needs of youth of the community from the ages of 13 to 21, thereby creating citizen awareness of such needs and serving as the policy recommending body for civic/education-related matters within the jurisdiction of the City of Oakland in which youth have an interest; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed Darby Hatfield, Kai Medina-Safir, and Hayden Thompson.

RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the following appointments to the Youth Advisory Commission:

Darby Hatfield, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At-Large Commissioner that began July 1, 2020 and will end June 30, 2022, filling the seat previously held by Maxwell Stern; and

Kai Medina-Safir, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as a an At-Large Commissioner that began July 1, 2020 and will end June 30, 2022, filling the vacant seat previously held by Gloria Guzman; and

Hayden Thompson, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as a an At-Large Commissioner that began July 1, 2020 and will end June 30, 2022, filling a seat previously held by Taylor Lyons.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - FIFE, GALLO, KALB, KAPLAN, REID, TAYLOR, THAO AND PRESIDENT FORTUNATO BAS

NOES -

ABSENT -

ABSTENTION -

ATTEST:____

ASHA REED
City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the
City of Oakland, California