OFFICE OF THE CITY GLERK
OAKLAND

21 NOV -4 PM 3: 55

Approved as to Form and Legality

City Attorney's Office

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. 88915 C.M.S.

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S REAPPOINTMENT OF DOUGLAS BOXER, MARGARET GROVER, THOMAS HART, DAVID P. JOHNSON, CLINTON O. KILLIAN, MICHAEL PANICO, JEAN RAINER, AND APPOINTMENT OF RAY LEON AND SIMA PATEL TO THE PARAMOUNT THEATRE OF THE ARTS BOARD OF DIRECTORS

WHEREAS, the City of Oakland owns the Paramount Theatre of the Arts property which is at 2025 Broadway. Oakland, CA 94612; and

WHEREAS, the Paramount Theatre of the Arts, Inc. a California non-profit corporation was created for the purpose of operating and managing the Paramount Theatre; and

WHEREAS, the Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws of the Paramount Theatre of the Arts, Inc. provide that members of the Board of Directors for the corporation shall be elected by the Board, subject to the concurrence of the Mayor and the City Council; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Resolution No. 55001 C.M.S., the City of Oakland entered into an operating agreement with the Paramount Theatre of the Arts, Inc. in the year of 1975 under which the Paramount Theatre of the Arts, Inc., agreed to operate the Paramount Theatre under the terms and conditions specified in the operating agreement, as it may be amended from time to time; and the operating agreement's initial term was for the period beginning October 1975 and ending June 30,1976 and thereafter runs from year to year; and

WHEREAS, Resolution No. 55076 C.M.S. and the Articles of Incorporation of the Paramount Theatre of the Arts, Inc. and the bylaws of the Board of Directors of the corporation specify that members of the Paramount Theatre of the Arts Board of Directors are to serve 4 year terms, which are to be staggered so that some appointments will expire every year, and appointments to fill a term of office are only to be for the remainder of that term; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED: That by the Oakland City Council's concurrence with the Board of Director's nominations, the following individuals are hereby reappointed to the terms set forth below; and be it

Douglas Boxer, Mayoral reappointment to serve the term beginning October 1, 2021 and ending September 30, 2024.

Margaret Grover, Mayoral reappointment to serve the term October 1, 2019 and ending September 30, 2023.

Thomas Hart, Mayoral reappointment to serve the term beginning October 1, 2021 and ending September 30, 2024.

David P. Johnson, Mayoral reappointment to serve the term beginning October 1, 2021 and ending September 30, 2024.

Clinton O. Killian, Mayoral reappointment to serve the term October 1, 2021 and ending September 30, 2024.

Michael Panico, Mayoral reappointment to serve the term beginning October 1, 2018 and ending September 30, 2022 filling a seat he previously held.

Jean Rainer, Mayoral reappointment to serve the term beginning October 1, 2021 and ending September 30, 2024.

FURTHER RESOLVED: That by the Oakland City Council's concurrence with the Board of Director's nominations, the following individuals are hereby appointed to the terms set forth below;

Ray Leon, Mayoral appointment to serve the term beginning October 1, 2019 and ending September 30, 2023.

Sima Patel, Mayoral appointment to serve the term beginning May 18, 2018 and ending September 30, 2022.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

NOV 16 2021

AYES - FIFE, GALLO, KALB, KAPLAN, REID, TAYLOR, THAO AND -

PRESIDENT FORTUNATO BAS

NOES -

ABSTENTION -

ATTEST:

ASHA REED

City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California

3121510v1