

Approved as to Form and Legality

Approved Approved

Oakland City Attorney's Office

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

Resolution No.	86760	C.M.S.

RESOLUTION RE-APPOINTING JODY NUNEZ, CURTIS FLEMMING, REBECCA ALVARADO, KEVIN MCPHERSON, AND LETITA HENDERSON WATTS AS MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC SAFETY AND SERVICES VIOLENCE PREVENTION OVERSIGHT COMMISSION

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the 2014 Oakland Public Safety and Services Violence Prevention Act, also known as the Safety and Services Act or Measure Z, adopted by the voters of Oakland, November 4, 2014 in the General Municipal Election creates the Public Safety and Services Violence Prevention Oversight Commission to evaluate, inquire, and review the administration, coordination, and evaluation of strategies and practices mandated by the 2014 Oakland Public Safety and Services Violence Prevention Act; and

WHEREAS, the 2014 Oakland Public Safety and Services Violence Prevention Act specifies that the Public Safety and Services Violence Prevention Oversight Commission shall consist of nine (9) members with the Mayor and each City Council member each recommending one name for appointment on the Commission, with all Commission members being appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council in accordance with City Charter Section 601; and

WHEREAS, the 2014 Oakland Public Safety and Services Violence Prevention Act specifies that at least two (2) members will have experience working with service-eligible populations, two (2) members will reflect the service-eligible populations, and two (2) members will have professional law enforcement or criminal justice background while all other members will have general experience in criminal justice, public health, social services, research and evaluation, finance, audits, and/or public policy; and

WHEREAS, the City Council adopted Ordinance No. 13303 C.M.S. establishing the membership term lengths, term limits, and quorum for the Safety and Services Oversight Commission; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has re-appointed the following to serve the following specified terms subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

RESOLVED, that pursuant to City Charter Section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's re-appointment of:

Jody Nunez, Mayoral reappointment upon the recommendation of Councilmember Dan Kalb for District 1 Representative, serving as a law enforcement/criminal justice representative, to serve the term beginning June 8, 2016, and ending June 7, 2018, filling a seat previously filled by Jody Nunez.

Curtis Flemming, Mayoral reappointment upon the recommendation of Council President Lynette Gibson-McElhaney as the District 3 Representative, serving as a 'working with service-eligible population' representative, to serve the term beginning June 8, 2016, and ending June 7, 2018, filling a seat previously filled by Curtis Flemming.

Rebecca Alvarado, Mayoral reappointment upon the recommendation of Councilmember Noel Gallo as the District 5 Representative, serving as a general member representative, to serve the term beginning June 8, 2016, and ending June 7, 2018, filling a seat previously filled by Rebecca Alvarado.

Kevin McPherson, Mayoral reappointment upon the recommendation of Councilmember Larry Reid as the District 7 Representative, serving as a law enforcement/criminal justice representative, to serve the term beginning June 8, 2016, and ending June 7, 2018, filling a seat previously filled by Kevin McPherson.

Letitia Henderson Watts, Mayoral reappointment upon the recommendation of Councilmember Rebecca Kaplan as the At-Large Councilmember Representative, serving as a 'working with service-eligible population' representative, to serve the term beginning June 8, 2016, and ending June 7, 2018, filling a seat previously filled by Letitia Henderson Watts.

JUL 0 5 2016

₩ ₩ ₩ W	0 2010
IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,	
PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:	
AYES - BROOKS, CAMPBELL-WASHINGTON, GALLO, GUI PRESIDENT GIBSON MCELHANEY -7	LLEN, KALB, K APLAN , REID, and
NOES - 🖔	
ABSENT - Kaplan - 1	
ABSTENTION - D	ATTEST: Talonda inunous
	LaTonda Simmons City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California